top of page

The Thursday after the marathon before...

I want to run. That's it - just run. The weather has been pretty good, and it's a great time to get out there but I'm sat on my arse. Actually, that's a lie - I'm sat on a tennis ball...under my arse. (Sorry glute!).

The Cure sang "Friday, I'm in love" - I'd like to say Friday, I'm running. Continuing their song, "Monday, you can fall apart". Well I walked like that for sure but now it's all about getting things moving again as there's the West Sussex Marathon Weekend coming up in May.

Wednesday saw a short trip to the gym to do 10km on the bike. Bliss! No aches or pains...well from the legs or glute, but should I be getting saddle sore? Thursday did have the good intentions of heading back to the gym, but there's something about a last minute query in the office which may only delay you thirty minutes or so, but knocks the stuffing out of your intentions.

So home I went, and as I casually approached the front door, looked at my step count for the day - 1,757. In nine hours I'd managed that!??

Time to get reacquainted with my Boosts....complete with souvenir from Sunday still attached. Just over 5km covered tonight, a lovely evening for a run, but I made do with a walk (aside from a couple of cheeky jogs). Leaving the flat, the Garmin was started (well some of us do agree that if it ain't on Strava, it never happened!) and the pace per mile looked all too familiar:

Not much of a pace but at least it's one

Still mission accomplished! 10,000 steps recorded and one hour later, there were almost 3 1/2 miles recorded. Glute is still making itself known, but it's getting quieter. With some luck it'll shut up entirely and let me go run! Watch this space - because you know full well, when I do run, there'll be another blog about it!

bottom of page