top of page

D-Reading a few rest days and getting back on it

So, where was I? Well, a unusual start as I was actually sensible on the GoodGym run and did the two miles! This was something I was grateful for the following day as once again. our morning 5k was rudely intruded upon by the flipping wind! It was an early start too for us as yours truly was off to Reading later that morning for the Sage Reading Half Marathon and the team I was working with up there. The bag was packed with good intentions and I was hopeful of squeezing in a couple of runs and a local parkrun too. I soon was to learn, that working on an event that got thousands of people to run, was not something that leant to allowing you to run.

On the Saturday I headed to Reading parkrun which was a new event for me, and allowed the collection of an "R" for my parkrun alphabet! The course was mostly grass, parallel to a section of the Thames before doing a double loop, then heading home. I was proudly wearing my Hove Promenade parkrun shirt (well, I was proud because I could fit in, just a little bit more!) and had a lovely morning away from the activity of putting on a race!

The weekend itself was an incredible occasion and a great time was had by all. My diet suffered as we had some splendid breakfasts and evening meals, but in between there was ample opportunity to snack on crap, and a lot of coffee was consumed. It did mean I headed home down the M4 with a caffeine induced headache and a touch of guilt! This was made worse by the fact this was waiting for me when I got home!

So, on Tuesday morning it was back to the promenade with a four miler planned to kick start the routine. Lucy joined Dave and I and we were all grateful that the wind had done one and gone! It made such a difference! When Lucy told me of her 10 mile run planned for Thursday, I offered to come along, not least because I wasn't sure of many opportunities for runs with double figure mileage now! However, before that, there was work to do! That evening I caught up with Georgia at the gym where we hit the bikes for 30 mins. Thank goodness for our stupidity and giggles as a 30 min stationary bike ride is longer than any 30 min run! Good to have fun and pratt around!

Wednesday saw Dave and I up the mileage to 5 just to play a little bit of catch up following my "weekend off"! Off out towards the power station and back and with all miles comfortably sub-9 mins, we were in a good place and the coffee tasted that little bit nicer afterwards. That evening saw GoodGym and again I was sensible. With 5 already in the legs and 10 to come early the next morning, I took the short option. Great to see Gill for about a mile of the run, even if her taking it easy brought home a stark reminder of just how fit and quick these triathletes are!

Early the next morning, I met Lucy over Withdean way and we headed out towards Lewes Road, making our way to Falmer, the Amex and beyond. The wind had definitely done one and it was surprisingly warmer than I expected - so naturally I had the look of someone who'd been caught in the rain!

If you think it looks yucky, try running in it! The twists and turns of Lewes Road saw us head away from the city, past the university and out towards Falmer. This is one of those stretches of road that actually does seem to have stretched when you run it as it goes on a bit! Approaching the Amex Stadium the watch beeped over to five miles which for reasons now oblivious to me, I found strange! Down the A27 we headed where we "shared" the path with a number of cyclists - some pleasant, some not so. With 2.5 miles to go, we took a breather at Lewes roundabout and were promptly beeped at by a passing Soula and then "encouraged" (rudely) over social media by Georgia!

Luce asked me to lead the next drag, and I found out why she christened it so! An uphill section towards the prison before crossing the lights and then negotiating the little town of Lewes. When it was built hundreds of years ago, they obviously didn't plan for multiple footpath users, but mercifully they did allow a nice downward section into the heart of the town. When we approached the finish, there was that moment that most runners hate - when you realise you need to add on! Quickly we worked out an additional stretch which was probably the most beautiful part of the run, out past the outdoor pool and back, and then the Garmin beeped! The legs felt ok but I knew this was the longest Lucy had ran in a while - so it's ironic that she looked fresh and I, well, let's face it, looked like shit! A coffee in Lewes for me and then a quick train ride home, most of which passed the route we'd taken (obviously in a fraction of the time) and that was that for me! Alas, Lucy was about to start a 12 hour shift!

Friday is normally my rest day but with the previous weekend fresh in my mind, I joined Dave for a 5k. I remarked that the legs were feeling it a bit but then we proceeded to really kick on with the pace and were doing 7:45/min miles for the last section! Madness!

I was back at Hove Promenade parkrun on Saturday and decided to pace 30 minutes (properly). I remembered that I should be at 6 mins per km and there was a smashing group of people that joined me! Pacing is so rewarding and knowing you've helped someone achieve a goal is just the best feeling! Plus, our audition for "Charlie's Angels" went well too!

So I'm into the taper zone now (no doubt to be followed by maranoia) but a 8-10 miler planned for Sunday that I'm looking forward to is on the horizon together with a parkrun for me with a difference on 13th April. But that, is another story!

bottom of page