top of page

Right then London, let's be having you!

And before you know it, here comes London. The main reason this blog started twelve months ago. As I'm sure you all know, 2018 was a disaster, with a dodgy glute meaning approximately 19 miles of the race were done walk/jog/limp (*delete as appropriate). As I crossed the line that year, just before the clock ticked over to six hours, I made a promise to myself that this wasn't my last London, that that was not how I intended to do a marathon, and to coin a well used phrase, I'd be back.

So, some 53 weeks later (London was a week later in 2019), there I was at Blackheath, in a splendid New Balance outfit ready to go again. Like in 2018, I was volunteering on the start line of the Fast Good For Age section. These guys and gals are aiming sub-3 hours to 3:30 which would be a dream for me. So, it was at 7am that I met Georgia at London Bridge and as you can see, we were already focused on the job in hand!

A few people thought this it was a wonderful thing to do before the race, but I have to be honest, it's almost selfish. I get to spend time with friends whom I otherwise wouldn't see before the race, you get a lovely warm feeling from helping out, there's some rather nice kit you get for free and not least, I am distracted for a couple of hours by the very thing I have to run! It was great to see friends there too including Sarah whom I hadn't seen in 10 years, running her first marathon, resplendent in bright yellow!

And so to the run! Having trained with Frances (we even did some of the course back in 2018 for me to "banish" the ghosts), we found ourselves in the same start pen. Well, I was on the start line having finished my shift so we arranged to meet as the pen made it's way forward, and we crossed the line together! (All this despite the efforts of Danny trying to prevent me as I wasn't GFA - a few of the other volunteers thought this was me being serious!) The weather was so much better than last year as it was breezy and cool. Before too long though, of course I was warm but this was manageable as it wasn't 20+ degrees!

The route took it's familiar way weaving through the streets and the locals were out in force which is always appreciated, even at the start of a long race. It was here I clocked my first "If Britney can survive 2007, you can survive the London Marathon" sign! Who knew there were so many Britney fans in London!?

First on the list to try and spot was Neil, a fellow parkrun ambassador whom I knew was on a water station! Spotting people is so hard but I was delighted to give him a shout as I sped* (*trotted) through. Following the road through to Cutty Sark was a nice distraction and once again, I used the Garmin to assess the sub-4 possibility. Unsurprisingly at these early stages, I was still on for it. Cutty Sark negotiated and heading out I looked straight into the eyes of Sophie from Arena! She'd messaged me to tell me she'd be around but it was total luck that I saw her (though I totally heard her) and it was a smashing boost!

The mantra was changing with every added mile. I was very much aware that mile 7 was where it all went wrong last year, and I pretty much passed it without a second glance. It was only further down the road when I saw some familiar buildings that I'd had to walk past in 2018, that it came back to me. "Not this time" was the mantra though perhaps, not as politely put as that!

I'd (very badly) written on my arm the miles where I needed to look out for people and with mile 9 coming up, I knew it was time to look for Dave. If anything the crowds seemed to get larger and deeper and I found myself staring into the faces of strangers, determined that I wouldn't miss him. The odds ended up in my favour and there he was bellowing "Marky B" which was a great lift. Also knowing that this cry was different from the many thousands I would hear, I felt confident that I'd catch him again in two more miles (whilst he took the short cut!) So for now it was job done, though then out of nowhere appeared George & Alison from B&HWRC. At one point I thought Alison was attacking me such was her enthusiasm, but you really can't put a price on that! It was brilliant!

Mile 11 showed signs for Rotherhithe Tunnel and I queried if this was the place to see Dave...it was and I did, and from there it was familiar ground as the route headed to Bermondsey, where I'd stayed the night before. It's always fun to come back to where my morning started and whilst it wasn't as special passing the tube station as I'd hoped, hitting the 12 mile marker (that I'd already walked past several times in the previous 18 hours) was another symbol that I was feeling strong and more walking memories were banished.

Tower Bridge is one of the famous symbols of the race and will forever be an emotional part of the race for me, for which I make no apologies. My friend and work colleague Vicky had promised to be there to cheer me on for my London Marathon debut in 2014 and cancer took her before she could. One of the last messages I got from her was her determination to honour her promise: the next day, she was taken. Once the seemingly endless incline up to the bridge was completed, I looked to the sky, checked in with her and the tears flowed. If I get in the race next year, I'll do the same and without doubt the reaction will remain so.

Taking a right and heading towards Canary Wharf, more and more demons were being banished. As I crossed half way, I was watching with interest the runners coming the other way. Great to give shouts to Ben (Shorty), Rebecca and Tom (Wakey) and well done for hearing me some of you! It was here I was supposed to do a video for SCOPE but my hands were so sticky and sweaty I couldn't risk dropping the phone! The miles were being ticked off as we weaved through the streets of London and to be honest, my memory isn't the clearest from here so forgive me if I miss any of you!

Another shout from the side, a quick glance and there was Laura, literally screaming and jumping up and down! What a boost! You see all of these people doing likewise for others, but when someone does it for you, it really does give you a shot in the arm! Plus she managed to get a photo of my that was better than any of the official ones!

Coming out of one of the tunnels, I saw Libby coming the other way, and though she heard the shout, there was no clue where it came from as I was on the other side of a fence! I made a mental note to work out what mile that would be when I got there!

At mile 16 I looked for Karen (who totally rescued me last year) but didn't see her (unbeknown to me, hubby Paul was out smashing a 2:18 marathon and he'd have finished by the time I got there!). Seeing the DLR come into view is a welcome sign as I knew that Georgia and some of the other parkrun volunteers would be round the corner. No sweary videos as I saw them this time, just a shout, a cheer and a clenched fist from me!

Heading out past mile 18, I was feeling ok but starting to feel "it". As you know, 18 was where it went a bit Pete Tong in Manchester but I was pleased to realise that though things were starting to hurt, I was in better shape than Manchester. Heading up and into Canary Wharf stung a bit and the corridor of people and noise was staggering. How the hell would I spot Dave here? Well, I didn't until there was that shout and I clocked him with the video camera! He's so polite! He says the below is in slow motion but it feels pretty real life when I watch it! (Look out for the yellow hat!)

Ironically, the Garmin went crazy around this point - showing a 16:30 mile which even this video isn't! I probably pushed a little too hard to get the correct pace showing and as a result, I started to notice things in the legs.

Things were starting to ache and cramp was becoming a factor now. As ever, the shirt was drenched and though I had been sensible with my water intake, salts were getting low. Annoyingly, the inside of the right thigh was the most painful - how the hell do you stretch that in the middle of a marathon? Some strategic walking was now in place but I made damn sure it was very short walks, unlike those in Manchester. Occasionally I had to stop to stretch the quad out due to cramp appearing (and on one occasion my left foot went completely to sleep causing a little panic! Thankfully, I was able to wake it up)

A very sweaty hug for Kerri at mile 23 and hello to Dean and I somehow managed to miss the Rogue Runners there! I think my eyes were going!! Just a parkrun to go I told myself though by now the Garmin was ahead of the mile markers which as anyone will tell you is a brain f**k at 23 miles. I was now on the part of the route that Frances and I did as one of our first training runs back in Autumn and I tried to use that as a motivation - been there, done that. Mile 23.5 saw me barking at Dawn to get a wave as I passed the NSPCC cheering point and then, approaching Big Ben, I heard my name! It was Emily! I hadn't seen her for a couple of years though we'd crossed paths many times as I'd coached her tennis on Neilson holidays, and we'd ended up working together in the office too! I must have looked bloody awful (bearing in mind this is now about 25 miles in) as she shouted "It's me!" to which I replied, "I know!"

And there was Big Ben, hidden in the scaffolding but a welcome sight as it was time to turn away from the Thames and head for the finish line. The volume increased and, for the final time, I looked for Dave. Despite the crowds and the noise, I spotted him just before Birdcage Walk. It was amazing that he'd been there and that one more shout was what I needed. I was so thirsty so I took a few seconds to walk, take on water, and when I passed that 600 metres to go sign, I vowed I wouldn't walk again. I don't feel I go into a zone but someone could have stolen Buckingham Palace and I wouldn't have known! It was all about the finish.

I turned onto The Mall and glanced at the Garmin...it ticked over to 4:11. One more push and I could get sub-4:12. So I pushed and ran it as hard as my legs would allow. I knew I was picking my feet up and hoped there would be photographic evidence of both feet in the air (there was, but too expensive!). The seconds were ticking down and it was with relief I stopped the watch on 4:11:55. Not the sub 4 I wanted but the last little victory was mine!

(Check out the clock watching, yellow hat wearing dude in the top right of your screen!)

I made sure I went through the centre finish knowing that James and Karen would be there (though I missed Karen). James was on medals and got a photo of me! As the lactic acid hit, there was Dave to say hello to and also Holly, busy taking photos for people - so naturally I employed her services!

What an incredible day. Yes, there are other marathons and races but there really is only one experience like London. And for me, to have so many friends around the course, volunteering with, running with, and just being a part of the day, is something I'll never fully get to grips with. This is one of the biggest races on the planet...so how do I know so many people and how does it feel like a local race to me?

The ballot opened before I'd finished for 2020 and of course I've entered. Fundraising has been and continues to be a challenge for me (£460 to go!) and if I'm unsuccessful in the ballot, I do have to seriously consider if I can go down that road again. Thank you though to SCOPE, a charity with whom I now have a fantastic connection and because of this, have learned so much more about the challenges disabled people have.

So many friends took part in the race - Frances completed her first even marathon in under 4:20 which is just brilliant. Sarah, outfit and all did 5:30ish and Claudia who wore the same vest and took part in her wheelchair flew over the line in 4:00:02 and is now hooked on marathons!

So what do you do after a marathon? Well, if you're me...

Monday - 5k

Tuesday - 5k

Wednesday - 5k + 2 miles

Thursday - 4 miles + 5k

Friday - 5k....and then write blog!

And for the coming weeks? Who knows, but that will be another story!

bottom of page