top of page

Something happened on the way to Shoreham...

Well the first thing to say is that last week's short GoodGym run didn't happen - I did the normal 5k! What IS the matter with me at the moment. We all know that running, at whatever speed, is a release from the day-to-day nonsense and is quality time but seriously, if I'm not running I want to be! One more night in the week would be good right now for sure!

No sitting on the laurels as it was another early morning start for a 5k with Dave. Another chilly morning but we donned the gloves and got out there! Coming so soon after the double run of the day before,it was a chance to show my true colours (albeit blue with the cold!) and be determined in my running. It was our last run together of the week too, and all too soon, our long run was on the horizon! First though, I had to get myself up and get out Thursday morning with a plan! I'd enjoyed the crossing of the lock and took it upon myself to head back there and do seven miles. The headphones were donned for this task, and even getting out of the door wasn't easy! "Hello, I must be going" I called as I headed to the seafront and turned to the west.

I was really pleased with this run as due to the local geography, there were numerous opportunities for me to cut the run short. The thoughts were there, you know the ones - the ones where if you take this turning, it'll still be a good run! Those ones yeah? Well, once past the King Alfred Centre, I just told myself "I don't care anymore" and focused on the music and continued down the A259. It was nice to see some runners still wearing their RED January shirts where they exercised everyday. Fab that the motivation is still going!

Crossing the locks near Shoreham, I soon found myself on the "road to hell" but I knew I was about half way through the run so a look to the pier in the distance and a "take me home" murmur and the legs responded. The road is a long one but having run there so many times, I know what it throws at you and now, it's just another thing to tick off on the list of places to pass before I am actually home. Just another road, that's all!

After seven miles, it was good to be back and I even beat the weather! As anyone who knows me will testify, I always look like it's been raining when I run, but with the cold weather there was no way I was thinking that I wish it would rain down!

Lunchtime saw me on a very familiar route as I did two warm down miles with Sasha and Nic from Neilson. Both of the girls are part of the relay team doing the Brighton Half Marathon and it was great to be going back on old ground! The sun was up and though it was breezy, for me it was t-shirt weather so no jacket required. Softy southerners eh??

After a busy Thursday, Friday was a rest day and on Saturday I headed to Eastbourne parkrun to catch up with Mike and the team, as well as welcoming the local NHS as part of the SAFE campaign, raising awareness of suicide. It was a wonderful moment as Karen did a brief talk before the run, and there was respectful silence.

The run itself was lovely, taking in the winter course which was a new one on me! A smashing out and back and one where the sun brought warmth towards the end! It truly was a transformation. At one point, I was "pottering" along and I glanced down at the watch - 7.55/mile! You kidding? I'm pottering with a 7 at the front! Suffice to say I was delighted! Approaching the finish line there was some serious loitering by the 27 minute pacer ahead, and he encouraged me over the line! Not sure what happened with the results as the Garmin said 26:42 and parkrun said some 16 seconds more. I missed again on the parkrun Bingo (check out the parkrun Google Chrome extension) . Having said that, I loved the course and I will be going back!

Sunday came around again and this time I did remember the water bottle and did do the first mile correctly. Dave had plotted an accurate course which saw us leaving Sunny Hove heading east to Brighton Marina before turning back and heading straight back for Shoreham Locks, where we'd cross and come back to Hove Lawns via the A259. After all of the cold weather, it was surprisingly warm, and I soon found that I needed to ration my water! There was a temptation to blame it on the sun, but with parkruns aplenty being cancelled the day before due to snow and ice, I'll happily take that! The sun though brought the people out and there was some weaving and dodging required to maintain our course. It was actually a relief to get to the aforementioned road to hell as no one was there! Well, I say that, but John had caught up with us on his bike and was a damn sight politer to me than he would be later when the football was on! Also out was Clare, whom I couldn't speak to as we were going up an incline at the time, and also Steve from Arena offering words of encouragement.

We struck lucky again with the locks and crossed without delay, though, now heading in the opposite direction to the previous runs, the road up and out of the area stung the legs a little! It felt like I'm not moving but thankfully it was a short bit and we were on the A259 heading home. I really enjoyed the last couple of miles as there were so many bits to tick off and you really felt that home was getting closer with every step! Once again, we hit our milestones at the same time and celebrated with coffee and a roll at The Flour Pot Company!

Careful what you wish for as Monday's recovery run couldn't have been much different! Wind and rain wasn't appealing but as you oughta know by now, I'll still get out there. Unfortunately Dave had a niggle and this really wasn't the day to try and run it off! My enthusiasm was actually sky high as the combination of this running malarkey and a strict diet, has seen the pounds fall away and I could get in a number of my running tops again! Naturally, I therefore wore my Greater Manchester Marathon top in the typically Mancunian weather and took the headphones! Though it was only 5k, I was heading in the direction of Shoreham when something happened. My running playlist skipped over to a series of covers by Matt Berry (he of "Toast of London" and "The IT Crowd"). As I pushed on into the rain, with Matt's dulcet tones singing the theme to "Rainbow" - YES - Rainbow, I realised that if I could run with that in my ears, I could run anywhere! 5k done it was time to head to the coffee shop where Mike and Christine were in, enjoying a coffee. Christine rather sweetly brought me a drink and we had a lovely natter whilst I dripped all over the floor!

Tuesday saw the dynamic duo restored and we headed off for what we promised each other would be a "gentle" 5k. Without breaking any records, we were certainly pushing it towards the end as for me a 8.20/mile pace isn't generally what I would call recovery, though that didn't stop Katie flying past us in the middle of her 10 miler, nor Issy charging past!! Later in the day, I caught up with Lucy at Preston Park and we did a 40 minute plod (I think it was more than a plod but let's use it) taking in the parkrun course, then an extra lap before trying to squeeze in a junior parkrun lap. It was another enjoyable run, again a double header but all in all another day in paradise.

Well, if you've got this far well done but it's all the running the made me do it! If you've anything about you, you may have noticed that to pass the time telling you my thoughts, I've been slipping in song and album titles associated with a certain Phil Collins! If you haven't noticed, be damned!! Have a look through and see how many you can find - some are a lot harder than others! When you've finished, pop onto my Facebook and comment with the number of songs you think you've found! Don't list them as that would be stupid! So, do you know, do you care? [Hint that's one right there!]

So, with a few more runs to come this week, here is where I leave you! Sorry, but that's just the way it is! And next week, well, that's another story!

bottom of page