top of page

Becoming a parkrun obsessive?

So where were we? Oh yes, you were catching up on the blog I wrote and no one read! So we're straight? Yes? Notice the Phil Collins songs? Meh!

So back to the running and straight into the long run. Due to work commitments, Dave couldn't make the Sunday so we took it upon ourselves to incorporate a parkrun into our run! As such, we headed to Lancing Beach Green parkrun, with our plan to do this, then head out to Worthing where we'd turn roughly about the start line of Worthing parkrun, before heading back to Lancing where Dave would stop and leave me to the remaining nine miles. That was the plan... and that's what we did!

Following a spot of Riverdancing by yours truly in the finish funnel (just don't ask) we were set on our way by Livvy to start the first stage of the run. It was quite curious for me as whilst I can't remember the last time I "went for it" at a parkrun, I knew I had to hold back. Having done Lancing before (and actually helped measure the course!) I knew what to expect, and it was one of those runs where all too quickly it was over, without being a time approaching anything remarkable (thank goodness!)

As everyone else headed for the coffee shop, Dave and I headed for Worthing. Again pace was critical for me with an extra 13 miles now to cover, and I was surprised when Dave suggested we slow down! My Garmin was showing 9:25/mile which seemed harder than the watch suggested. It was one of those mysterious spots that GPS equipment goes into as we were most definitely too quick at that stage! (Thankfully the Garmin sorted itself out a minute or two later). Heading to Worthing we saw a number of parkrunners heading our way out on a warmdown and we were making sufficiently decent time to pass the finish line of Worthing parkrun before the Tail Walker had got home!

As we turned, I was grateful for the misty day we had, as the sight of Hove in the distance would not have given me much encouragement. We arrived back at the cafe where Dave took possession of the Mini Cooper S (a much more sensible way to head home), and I took a swig of water and left my bottle behind, trotting off into the mist. The route would take me in a straight line towards Shoreham before joining Old Fort Road, looping back down Harbour Way, before crossing the footbridge over the sea, then heading right, all the way back to Hove. The loop bit was something I wasn't looking forward to and it's not something I can give a reasonable explanation as to why! Thinking hard, it may stem from a long run I did there in 2017 which was ultimately the beginning of the end of my Paris Marathon. I remember being sore and exhausted with a long way to go, and I didn't last that much longer on the run. Maybe it's that? Who knows?

Anyway, that was safely negotiated before I felt the sting of the camber on the bridge! It may not be much when you're out and about for a stroll but in the middle of a long run, you know it's there! Heading down the A259, it was time to work the checklist of sections done. It was during one of these moments that I noticed something on my leg! It was white! What the fu...flipping heck! Running in my 100 shirt is something I only do at parkrun, so for it to be worn on a long run is a first. As it isn't one of the new ones, the material is a bit thicker and as anyone who knows what I'm like when running, that means sweat and a lot of it. Suffice to say, I was soaked and this was now through to my shorts (which kept trying to fall down which I will take as a positive!) This meant that as the shorts rubbed together they were foaming! Whilst I was relieved it wasn't anything bad, it was still embarrassing as I longed for the miles to disappear. One by one though they did disappear, and then, Hove Prom was in sight. The parkrun had long since packed up and gone home but that was the third parkrun in the run, and shortly after, I met Dave for coffee and the return of my car keys! Job done and the 13.1 additional miles came in comfortably under the two hour point!

With the long run done, I used the Sunday morning to head to Preston Park junior parkrun to say hello and drink a coffee or two. I planned a freedom run on the 5k parkrun course, and set off in sunshine. The legs were ok-ish, but at the start felt like a engine being turned over, that hadn't seen a drop of oil in months! Gradually though, they improved and I enjoyed a nice, gentle run. There were a few people out too getting some miles in - one of which was Emily, smashing out a speed session. As I headed to the turn where there is usually a cone, each time, there was a runner exactly where I didn't want them to be! Bad timing maybe but incredible the odds that every time I turned, I'd have to slow or speed up to avoid a collision.

Amazingly, the same thing happened the following morning when I met Lucy for another freedom run in Preston Park! This run was much harder than it should have been and I couldn't fathom out why. We took it steady but it wasn't comfortable. We were both glad when it was all over for sure! Lucy called her run, "not a morning person" and I put it down to that!

Tuesday saw me find out why the run the day before felt as it did - I was shattered! I woke up tired, the legs felt tired and it was just one of those days where I listened to my body, particularly as I had no bloody option!

Wednesday arrived again and 8 miles planned with the young Anderson. We headed to Hove with Roedean our destination before turning back to complete the run on Hove Prom. It was a stunning day, but as ever, for the first mile, I was really feeling the day off. It took a good 1.5 miles for everything to start to feel a bit normal and thankfully in the end, I felt fine. Trotting up Marine Parade had me thinking of the Brighton Half coming up this weekend and I know that whilst we have a goal, this section is not the part where we'll get ahead. The long, slow uphill section I'm used to now (thanks to Dave) but even I was surprised I suggested this route. Some bits were harder for Lucy than she possibly imagined beforehand but regardless we kept on going and got the miles in the bank.

With 8 already in the bank today, GoodGym was always going to be just the two. It was a stunning evening and I just started the Garmin and let the legs decide. The second mile was one of those where everything clicked into place and felt at one with my running! A number of friends were out like Ricky and Kevin, and I was genuinely thinking what the possibilities were, if I decided to continue the run. This wasn't possible of course, but I'll happily finish the day with the tenth mile of ten being the fastest of the day.

Another 5k is planned tomorrow, before rest Friday and some pacing at Hove Prom parkrun on the Saturday. Sunday sees my favourite race and after missing it last year because of injury, it will be great to be back! Let's see what happens but of course that is another story!

bottom of page