top of page

The one where it's been so long that I have to miss out loads

Where do I begin? Why am I asking you, as I know exactly where I'll begin...the start line of the Greater Manchester Marathon (and I'll probably drop back to other things when I remember them!) So much has happened and many miles run since the last blog almost a month ago and since it would take me another month to list everything, I'm jumping to the main event...Manchester.

Saturday saw me back at Sale Water parkrun where I caught up with Dawn as we finally did a parkrun together! A very gentle pace around the lovely park suited us both, particularly yours truly with 26.2 miles the following day!

It was smashing to, to catch up with Vicky and Alice (RD on the day) and have a good old chinwag later on!

Sunday was the big day. The forecast was for cloud and cool weather, which, as I would find out later was spot on...until mile 18! Anyway, Brockles Senior dropped me off at the Theatre of Dreams and I made the short walk over to Lancs CCC where the bag drop was. It was very surreal and low key (which isn't a bad thing for me) and I had made a mental note of people to look out for on the course, and I kept my fingers crossed for a sub-four.

The start pens, to be honest were a bit of a mess and you were mingling with people who obviously weren't running - friends and family of those who were and as you made your way to your start, it was frankly irritating that folk were still in there! Eventually, we set off down the Mancunian Way towards the City Centre before taking a right into Old Trafford, and starting the journey back to the start...the long way round. It was slightly comical as most folk in that area couldn't be bothered to get up and watch: there was the occasional flicker of a curtain but for the first mile and a bit, that was it! Having said that, great to see Vicky and some of the many Chorlton Runners out supporting. It seemed Manchester took inspiration from this as over the next mile or so, more people ventured out to watch and cheer, and a number of churches had makeshift water stations and jelly babies even at such an early stage! As we headed back towards Chester Road and the start, I began to think my mind was playing it's usual tricks on me. I needed the loo! Surely not? I'd been twenty mins before the start and surely this was impossible. Passing the first water station as the route headed to Stretford, I soon began to realise that (somehow) this wasn't my imagination and thankfully, with my local knowledge, I found suitable undergrowth to sort the situation! Not my finest hour.

The pace was going ok, and the first couple of miles comfortably coming in under 9.00 mins which meant I had precious seconds in the bank (aside from mile 3 for reasons documented above!). Stretford became Sale as we crossed the border into Cheshire and began winding round the streets of the town. Cathy had requested a sweaty hug and boy, did she get one! Brilliant to see her, and a little relief too that people I'd planned to see, I'd managed to see!

"Our" Angela and I had liaised over where I would see her and my top cheerleader Issy, but as I approached Brooklands Road (a long stretch that would take me to Timperley and Altrincham), I remembered seeing them there in previous years...and sure enough, there she was, which gave me a massive lift! The long Brooklands Road seemed to go quicker this year as I knew I was in better shape. The miles were still on course and I had developed an really handy habit of glancing at my watch when the next mile was closer - seeing 6.8, 7.9 etc is much better than 8.1! The miles were steadily being ticked off, as were the family members! An Uncle and Aunt at Timperley Cricket Club done, and we weaved our way into Altrincham where the crowds were rising. The brilliant Metrolink trams allowed supporters to get all over the course and even though Alty seems to have more uphill bits, it seemed to be over in no time. Huge kudos at this point to a chap in a wheelchair who powered up one such incline; such amazing effort and I was delighted to chat with him afterwards and find he did 4:40 which was twenty mins under his goal!

Heading out of Altrincham, the pace was doing ok, but it was getting warmer. Another wave to same Aunt and Uncle and then a new stretch - Park Road. I knew Park Road well from my time living up in Manchester as yet another Uncle and Aunt lived off it (but no appearance! Humbug!) and I used to coach and play tennis at Heyes Grove which made a welcome sight and triggered many happy memories. However, I knew that there were railway lines and a Metrolink station here and this meant some hump back bridges. These was a test of course but the sun was breaking through now and it was noticeably much warmer. Heading back on to the A56 Chester Road, tantilising you when you knew this was the quickest way to the finish line. The pace was nearer 9 mins a mile now but I wasn't too concerned as I had time in the bank and already I was approaching 18 miles. A hi-five from Issy and Angela at this point was most welcome!

Next up was a twisty turny bit which I think is new for 2019 - and it was here the wheels came off. I discovered to my cost, that I hadn't fuelled up enough and whilst I can't say I hit the wall (as mentally I was fine), the legs decided to disagree. Out of nowhere, I needed to walk. I was ok with that, and I put it down to the twisty bit of the course. Then the stomach felt like it was being twisted itself and I had to try and work out whether or not I actually did need to do something about it! All of this, naturally impacted my time, and I pretty soon worked out that my initial goals may not be met! Slowly, I made my way through the next few miles, jogging then walking and taking on water. It was getting warmer and it seemed like the fates were against me. Another cousin located as Our Andrew was there and I proved beyond doubt that the camera does lie as I look reasonably ok in this and nothing could be further from the truth!

Mile 22 saw my parents and sister and I paused to use a towel that mum had thoughtfully brought me - and my head started to go light because I'd stopped. Self defence kicked in and I told them I had to get going which I did, selectively walking up anything remotely uphill and making sure I was trotting slowly at places where I knew people would be! Great to get a shout from old school chum Andy as I headed into Urmston where a number of houses were determined to party. The walking was occuring a lot more now, but for pure theatre, as I approached the Stretford border (and huge credit here to the ASICS GMM Team for having welcome signs up announcing each different town you ran into), on came the Rocky fanfare and straight away, I and several other people kicked on. Sadly it couldn't last but it was a much needed boost for sure.

Approaching Stretford Precinct, I glanced at the watch and saw the sub-four goal tick into the distance. I was spent, and was already learning things from this with London in mind. Turning the corner back onto Chester Road for the final mile, there was Alice (whom someone had given a megaphone to - silly people!) and thankfully I also got a shout from Vicky too. I saw someone wearing inflatable pants that made it look like he was riding a sheep - I was so gone that I didn't realise it was Rowan until I saw the photos afterwards!

The last mile was mostly walking to be honest. I roughly knew the time I'd get and it was respectable. A lady waved a sign at me that said "Never trust a fart after 20 miles" to which I shouted, "I've been like that since mile 2!" - the stomach cramps had gone and good riddance!

The last mile the crowds were their loudest and there is something about the Mancunian accent that to me, is the most genuine. The encouragement from people was truly humbling, and as I geared myself up for one last push to the finish line, I found myself being carried away with the shouts, the legs moved and the cheer and shouts of "go on lad", (though not with the voice of Wallace from"Wallace & Gromit") saw me home.

4:20 and I was spent! Mistakes made but have already been learned from and will be actioned accordingly when London happens. Though the weather looks warm again!!

Thank you to everyone who gave me a shout, a cheer or just verbals! Mentions too to James, the ladies from Reading Roadrunners whom I chatted with, the awesome Chorlton Runners who made me feel like one of their own and anyone else I missed!

From that marathon to another one, and that's my wheelchair parkrun I did the following Saturday! But this has gone on a bit, so that will definitely have to be another story!

bottom of page