top of page

The one where 5 x 5 doesn't make 30, and Richmond Park gets called names (none polite)

Blimey! In the pressing of a Garmin, over a week has gone since the last blog and so much running done! In order for this not to take a week to read, there needs to be some editing and attention to detail!

Carrying on from where I left off, there was a nice "yes" moment on Thursday's run as I was able to wear my parkrun apricot shirt without looking like a sack of spuds. Little things like this make everything worthwhile (plus saves a few quid on running gear!).

Saturday saw me back on the Prom at Hove for parkrun and pacing 30 mins..or so I though. What can only be described as a "brain fart" moment saw me working hard to get up to the desired pace from the start. It wasn't as easy as it should have been, but I continued glancing at the Garmin, waiting for the 5 mins per km to show - I'd even changed the settings so I got it right. About 1km and with me fast catching Paul, the 27 min pacer whom I was secretly questioning, Emma pointed out that I was going a bit quick! Finally the light dawned and I should have been going SIX mins not 5! Hasty apologies to the parkrunners and lots of shouting meant the group caught up and despite this, a few PBs were achieved!

Sunday was my favourite race - The Grand Brighton Half Marathon - and the quandry about keeping the mileage up. Thus I did 2 miles before the race and would add on at the end. Being lucky enough to have a place in the Beacon Tent, I was able to catch up with old friends and colleagues from Neilson as well as make new friends. Emily was in there looking ready for what would be a brilliant performance taking second place later on, and then I spotted Kirsty from Horsham parkrun. I was unable to catch her eye though as she seemed distracted, probably by new friend Lindsey who was in with Dave and myself. Then Kirsty wanted a selfie with her! I mean, what did this pretty young lady with a huge smile have that I didn't? Must be because she co-presents BBC TV's Blue Peter....yeah, that must be it!

The race itself was unbelievably warm for February, to the extent that as it shares a lot of the same route, I had flashbacks to Brighton Marathon. The course was different to that I had ran before to accommodate more wheelchair athletes so this meant heading out and up towards Roedean first...and on the other side of the road which threw me a little. Lindsey made her move early and Dave and I started clocking up the miles, seeing lots of familiar faces on the way round. Great to see Paul Martelletti back in town too (who achieved his aim of a podium finish in style). Heading back to the city and up towards the Pavillion, we were grateful for the shade (yes, it really was that hot!) as later on in the race the heat began to bite! I almost managed to completely miss Karen (and it wasn't even mile 16 of London!) but thankfully that didn't happen, and there was an awesome cheer from the Arena 80 marshal point with 1.1 miles to go! We crossed the line in 2.02 so slightly over the goal, but still quicker than Worthing the previous fortnight so that was an achievement. Afterwards I added on to make the miles up to 17 for the day but they were slow going, not least because of the thousands of exhausted runners in my way at the back of the finish line! Such is life though and another fab Brighton Half was in the bag!

Monday saw a pleasant recovery run and it then took me until the following evening to get out again and do 5 miles heading out of Brighton and back with Lucy! Must be slightly downhill coming back in as I enjoyed that bit more! Wednesday saw Dave and I do an early 5k, though when Dave felt unwell, I did 2 & 3 solo which was fine but surprising as my pace jumped up and it felt ok - so why fight it? That evening saw my GoodGym run as as I felt good that morning, I made it another 5k and there was a definite feeling of comfort! Plus the second 5k was only 30s slower so I was happy with that!

Our Thursday run together (and last for nearly a week) saw us once again step up the pace, mile after mile! It was great and we really felt like we were working hard, to the extent that our last segment was coming in a 7.50/mile! Not bad considering I was right at the end of my running week. With a new month the next day, I did consider trying to get another 4 mile run in as this would match the previous month's mileage, but considering January has 3 more days than Feb, I let it slide!

An early start and breakfast for me on Saturday ahead of a visit to Frimley Lodge parkrun and my LSR in Richmond with Frances. I mention breakfast as this was the only time I ate (6.30am) and this is something I would pay for later in the day.

Frimley Lodge is lovely: start across a football field and then out to the canal, back down past the railway before back into the field to do it all one more time! It was a little congested at the start but the run was comfortably, ticking along around marathon pace . One latte later, a drive and a few trains and I caught up with Frances as we set off on our 16 miler. As we weaved our way around the Acton, then Chiswick streets, it became apparent that there hadn't been much thought to elevation on this run. Never mind, it'll be ok when we get to Richmond! Erm, nope! The first thing I learnt about Richmond Park (apart from the fact it is bloody huge) is that it isn't bloody flat. Seemingly more ups than downs and it was about one mile in that I was aware that perhaps not eating between Frimley and Acton, wasn't my greatest idea. It is hard to describe but the feeling from knowing that perhaps you don't feel as right as you should do. (Perhaps the very early start and parkrun had something to do with this, but I'm thinking it was the food!) Some miles were better than others, but the water in my bottle was disappearing and I knew all wasn't firing. There was some entertainment to distract the mind though - trying to work out where the cyclists who came flying past you were going to go was one, plus there was the, "don't worry that I look like shit on this run, and since you are taking up the whole path, I'll run out wide" game that a number of pedestrians played.

One hill in particular got to me but some miles were better than others - completing the 8th mile was something that took ages I seem to remember - but eventually (after a water refill) we headed out of the park, and back towards Acton. We'd clocked the fact that for some reason we would need to add on, but yours truly was in need of a break or two and when they did happen (thanks to traffic lights etc), my head felt queasy. I was finding out the hard way that you have to fuel before a long run! After negotiating being held at railway crossings, it was a relief to stop the watch at 16. Lots to learn for me from this for sure.

So Sunday the legs felt ok (strangely) but with some dodgy weather around, I'll head out for a very gentle recovery run later on! And that will be another story!

bottom of page