top of page

Not blowing my own trumpet, but a merry few miles on the "Floop"

Well, it's been a while, to say the least but I'm back with more running blogging thoughts and chit chat to entertain you! So where have I been? Well, I'm still here, it's just been a bit frantic that's all!

Since the last blog, a change in circumstances really jolted my running. My routine of lunchtime runs had disappeared and I felt guilty for being away from the laptop when I should have been (in my mind) out there looking for jobs. Ironically, it was because I spent so much time on the computer, I got to notice the runs Dave was making. Dave and I did the Brighton 10k together (mentioned on the last blog), and before long, we were out doing some runs together. What a life saver this was for sure! Never underestimate the value of a running buddy. Particularly at the turn of the year, my running has stepped up (I know what you're thinking...whose doesn't step up for the new year), to the point where finally pounds are dropping and I've already got one 16 mile and an 11 miler in the bag - more about those later!

So let's start with this month (because let's face it, you haven't got all day!), the NYD double saw two parkruns in one day and some huge numbers at Hove Prom and Hove Park. And this is where I think the critical thing happened! As the following day, we went out again, just for a steady 5k in the morning and then, that evening (as it was a Wednesday) I had my GoodGym run to do. I'm not being daft about it now and since I had (and have continued to) run that morning, the GG was now a two mile relaxing plod. The next day saw me out with Sarah and some new friends on a cold, dark 8 miler and I actually enjoyed it! The King Alfred to Brighton Marina is nearer a 7.5 miler but with the trot required home, I soon found the missing half!

Saturday saw a return to a quieter, but still busy Hove Prom parkrun and the opportunity to pace 30 mins. I naturally enjoy my parkruns but sometimes I can arrive feeling achy and tired - then I start to pressure myself into a time which I (quite frankly know) was only achievable in Spring 2016. So when the opportunity to pace comes up, I take it and I'm so glad I did! What a brilliant morning! Yes, I managed to mess it up a little bit by approaching the finish line with 29 minutes on the watch, but it wasn't about me! The 30 minute train had stretched a little and there were some genuinely lovely people on it. When I realised the amount of time we still had to go, I hung back, encouraging the others that there still was time to spare and a few more seconds of effort would bring it through. Helping people is so rewarding and I'm looking forward to doing this again soon in the near future!

The next few days saw me increasing the miles with Dave, a lovely 4 miler with Danny on what would be a great parkrun course, before taking in Banstead Woods parkrun en route to a brief visit to Manchester for Brocklehurst senior's birthday (and of course another run). The opportunity for dinner with parkrun founder Paul Sinton-Hewitt was fantastic too and, just like running with friends, it is always fabulous to spend quality time with good friends! BW is a trail run, surprisingly through some, erm, woods! In the shape of a rectangle, it starts half way up the "up" bit before turning left across the top: left again down a long slope before coming across the bottom, passing the finish line before turning up and doing the entire "up" bit again and repeat. It was a glorious route and it was enhanced by local carvings of characters from Narnia! Close to the finish was the wardrobe, overseen by the Witch herself a short distance away!

Sunday saw me nervously attempt a 16 mile run with Vicky, Alice and the Chorlton Runners. As well as making new friends, it was a fascinating way of seeing another side to Manchester. We met at Chorlton Water Park, (wait Chorlton has a water park? I mean it's not like I went to school around here for SEVEN years or anything!) The next part I learned was that we would be running on the "Floop"? What the actual f...I had to ask Alice what/where this was and she explained it was the old Fallowfield Loop - a railway line long since gone that had been made into a cycle and walkway. The weather was typically Mancunian as we set off, and with a steady pace, regular breaks and Vicky's guidance, we added on the miles down the "Floop". After some time, we diverted off and found ourselves running along a true piece of Manchester history, the Rochdale Canal towpath. Signs and buildings from a time long since gone were still visible and yes, there were parts that were cobbled, but before long, we found ourselves in the shadow of Manchester Piccadilly in the heart of the city! (I chose to ignore the Etihad Stadium for obvious reasons). As we headed out of the city out towards Old Trafford and Hulme, we retraced steps I had taken many times during those seven years of school (in which I completely failed to learn that Chorlton had a water park!) as the route took me close to St Bede's College and then past the playing fields where memories of emulating Bryan Robson came back to me - as did memories of lapping the pitch on frozen days).

The route then got a little emotional for me as we headed past Southern Cemetery and the chance to say hello to Gran. This was about 14 miles in and as you'd expect, the legs were feeling it, but as we got closer, they became stronger and the pace increased. I knew if I got ahead, I could (albeit from the fence) have a few precious seconds with her, and that's just what I did and yes, it got emotional. I didn't realise though that the others would feel that way as Vicky shouted "you'll have us all crying in a minute!" Anyway, 16 miles done and a long trip back to Brighton awaited, not before arranging to see the girls again when back up for Manchester Marathon in April.

Strangely the next morning, the legs were OK so I headed out to join Dave for 5 of his 9 mile run. It seemed only right since I had dumped him the day before for the Chorlton posse! Top running from Mr S and the week saw a few more 5ks with Dave and Lucy, before heading to Peacehaven parkrun to catch up with folk on a bitterly cold and damp morning! A rest day had been well and truly earned on the Sunday as Dave and I approached our 11 mile jaunt on the Monday. In truth, with 16 miles in the bank, I was feeling confident. It was a crisp, sunny morning as we headed towards Rottingdean, first taking the undulating A259 road (with a nasty bugger of a hill to get to Rottingdean), before dropping onto the undercliff as we headed home. It felt a little strange running on there for the first time in ages: a route that had been almost a daily occurrence that I hadn't been to in months. The sun was getting warmer and as we approached the pier, I was feeling drained. The draining type that can get into your head and this wasn't helped by the fact my Garmin had the run approx 1/3 of a mile behind Dave - silly these things that can get into your head!

Dave called time at the i360 having achieved his goal of 10 miles which left the last 1 1/3 (according to my watch), to me. Whilst it was on very familiar ground (Hove Prom) it was harder than I had expected and I had started to do that annoying habit of looking at my watch every few seconds, pleading with it to show a higher mileage that it actually did! Finally, 11 miles ticked over and I reminded myself that any run over 10 miles means I need to take fluids with me (I hadn't today!) Still I'll take an 8:50min/mile at the end of a long run any day!

Did we rest Tuesday? Did we heck! Having spent the rest of the previous day trying to recover from the 11 miles, I wasn't looking forward to our morning 5k. "Definitely nice and easy" Dave said at the start - I knew it would be otherwise. Dave had the energy I was sadly lacking and once again I was on Hove Prom, looking at the Garmin, wishing the metres away. Another run done though and already I had accumulated more miles in the month than I had done in any of the months beforehand!

The chance of a running with my sparring partner, Georgia, (AKA The Dickster - don't ask why! We don't know either, just a nickname that appeared for both of us out of nowhere and is still here!), was not to be spurned! A 5k round Burgess Hill may not be on any training programmes out there, but it did something for me! Whether it was the banter, the pace, who knows but it was great to share a run with my training buddy again and I'm looking forward to more later in the year!

And finally, to this morning and another 5k, and actually the point for this blog - see I got there eventually. Everyone has a moment where they can see and feel the training kicking in. It's nothing special or outlandish but given the morning and the evening runs before, I was unsure about the legs. Today, it clicked and I thoroughly enjoyed our run, despite the biting wind. I was double-gloved up to protect my crap circulation in the fingers and even that wasn't enough!

It was great to see friends out and about too! On the prom was Louise, clocking up the miles and as cheerful and smiley as ever - despite the fact she still had 5k to go on her run which was the distance we had just completed. Then as we retired for our post-run coffee at the Flour Pot Bakery, a chance to catch up with Carol talking all thing running, and all things Urmston!

(Any excuse to enjoy the comic genius of the late Victoria Wood).

So more long runs, more parkruns and more seafront runs to come! Can you contain yourself? No, of course you can't...but you'll bloody well have to! Because that is a another story!

bottom of page