top of page

The week where the car went in

Normally, the last thing I want to do after a marathon (or marathon weekend) is run. However, with the car booked in to get it's alloy wheels repaired, I was left with Hobson's Choice so Tuesday morning saw a gentle, gravity assisted 2.5 mile run down Wilson Avenue to Brighton Marina. Had it been any other route, I'm pretty sure I'd have found a plan B!

I didn't have any other plans for the day - I'd thought about the gym, but with the car away for at least a week, legs tired as well as the rest of me, I was thinking against it. Then Dickie got in touch offering to get the coffees in post-workout, and the motivation was there. So in addition to a couple of running miles, there were at least seven bike miles to add.

Wednesday morning saw a lovely commute on the bike passing the queuing traffic along the seafront. Speeding the other way on her morning run was Kate Row, bright socks as ever. Today's run had already been planned for over a week. As a member of GoodGym, there is the option to visit people who would like some company during the week. The format is simple: run there, chat with new friend, run home. The people we visit are called "coaches" and you get allocated a coach whom you visit at an agreed time, once a week. GoodGym thoroughly check coaches and runners alike, and for some people, this can be the only visitor they have all week. My coach, we'll call Fletch (not his real name as this is not allowed - Fletch is a good name as we both love the work of Ronnie Barker), is a great character with lots of stories. Like me, he loves his sport and comedy programmes so the visit crept over the hour mark before I knew it. Coaches don't live too far away, so two runs of two miles were added to the legs this week. A bit of a headwind on the bike ride home meant the legs stung a bit on the outbound once I'd dropped the bike off but it was more about the visit than the miles.

Thursday's bike ride in was a quick one with the wind behind me! I was talked into a couple of runchtime miles with Sasha which actually made the legs feel better. The pace was slow and steady and more about getting out in the fresh air! Thursday night is Hove Park night and another 5.5 miles on the bike saw me there for 6:10pm. Bob's sessions always get you working and though I had tired legs from the weekend and all of the above, I gave it a go. Taking on the hills of Hove Park was the last thing I wanted to see and whilst it was a tired performance, I was pleased the way I seems to attack the hills for once - even if it was slow!

Hearing Bob say, "one more lap" was music to my ears, and though there are more bike miles to come over the next few days, I'm ready for a rest day! Thank rest day it's Friday!

bottom of page