top of page

Running? I'm not Worthing, I'm not Worthing!

After a day off, the weekend offered both a parkrun and a 10k race - both down the coast in Worthing. Donning our ambassadorial robes (and with absolutely no Ferreo Rocher in sight thankfully), Val and I headed down the A259 to catch up with the team from the forthcoming Lancing parkrun, who were taking on the roles at Worthing. I should have realised that since I was running, it was going to be a hot one! True to form, it was "cracking the flags" (translation - awfully warm) as Val and I started from the back, working our way through the runners, enjoying the run and embracing "conversational pace". It was fab to see so many people out enjoying the morning, even the canine participant who decided he wouldn't make it back in time, and yours truly was downwind of it! That kept me quiet for a few minutes.

Mark and Ed were there too, with Ed testing out a 5km run ahead of next week's Endure 24 event. Stef was sorting the barcode scanning and the Lancing team did a great job, and we toasted the event as we only know how...with a latte!

Sunday saw the repeat journey back to Worthing, with Nic kindly driving Val, Izzy, Rob and I to the start. As ever with any race that's local, there were lots of people to see and say hi to. Michele, TJ, Dave, David, Jo, Frances and Brig from the Arena crowd were there as well as friends from Lacing Eagles, Seaford Striders, Worthing Striders and Phoenix. The most common topic of conversation was what people were aiming for time wise (as usual, I, was clueless!) The weather was....well you can damn well guess! After saying hello to a number of friends, I made my way through the pens, aiming for the 50 mins plus section. It was great to catch up with old work mate Tim, and also see Cath and Mark in the same pen as me. The temperatures were hotting up and I was relieved to hear the countdown to the start. The route was pretty straightforward as we headed down the prom, and within minutes I was joined by Justin and we both gave a wave to "Chairman" Bob from Arena 80! I even took the time to doff my cap to him!

I set off about 8:10/mile and since the plan (well, there technically wasn't a plan on the basis of the next comment..) was to let the legs decide I just left them too it. Soon enough Sophie glided past me and disappeared into the distance, just as we took our first turn and there was the lovely sight of Andy & Louise Payne cheering us Arenas on! It was great to see Nathan too, taking part in another wheelchair race as he continues his personal journey towards becoming a Paralympian!

The route took a familiar route, bringing back memories of the half marathon in February when my injury struck. Today, thankfully those memories could be banished! The course rarely double backed on itself which meant that spotting people was going to be tricky but on the one U-turn section, I was able to give shouts to Jo, Tim, Kristina, Val and Sharon. It was here I made a schoolboy error as I recorded my worst mile time...due to a loose shoelace! Irritating and avoidable but it needed sorting, but one lace tied (and several swear words used), I was back off. Surprisingly the pace was staying consistent as the kms and miles were ticked off. On the final turn to head east, I passed Sophie who, like many others, found that the heat was taking it out of her. I passed a few words as I dripped past her (yes, it was the usual race look for me!) and I was trying to maintain the pace. The last mile was perhaps the trickiest, as with the end in sight, there was the possibility of easing off. However a few words were exchanged in my head and I just kept at it. Shouts from Bob and Izzy helped as I crossed the line in 51:37 - nothing special but the consistency was pleasing and gives me something to work towards!

Monday night meant track and time for a Steve McNealy special. Pyramids were the order of the night and yours truly wasn't feeling particularly full of beans (not sure why, and certainly nothing to do with Worthing 10k). The session was a combination of tempo and speed runs over an increasing distance and when I tried to hit the speed section, the legs didn't want to react. Somehow over the course of the half hour, I managed to record a few parts where the pace had another 6 at the start. At least the effort was there and once again, I recorded the look of someone who'd been running in the rain!

Tuesday was gym night but not before a gentle plod at lunchtime with Sasha as we gave her twinge a run out. It was a very careful run and another one of those worth it's weight in gold as it got me away from my desk. Gym saw a 10km static bike ride and some weights and core, plus the obligatory post workout coffee with Georgia where we discussed the coming weekend and Endure 24! Whether that will be blogged about is another matter - depends on what I remember about it after 24 hours of relay running!

Wednesday was GoodGym of course and I have to say I struggled on the run. It was warm and the effects of a working day seemed to take their toll. Don't get me wrong, the pace was OK, but I really felt like I was running through mud. I know running is good to clear the head but sometimes the working day can affect the run. It was lovely though to see Alice out on the run - Alice who invited me to talk at BelongCon. We swapped some ideas whilst both taking a much needed breather and now I'm even more excited about talking about parkrun! Fletch was suffering with the heat as well when I called in, and we had a good chat about the weather funnily enough. On the way home, as ever, I struggled to get the legs going and then, strangely, the last mile was the most comfortable one of the lot! Posture felt better, pace was improved and another positive run was done! It was great to finish seeing a number of friends from Rogue Runners who'd just finished their session!

Sadly Thursday saw an overflow of the working day and there was no running to be done. With a bit of an achy hip and a busy weekend ahead, lets see if it was the right decision! So Endure awaits....but that's another story!

bottom of page