top of page

A parkrun and a race...is that too much to Endure?

The Bangles complained about 6am - they had it easy! 5am the alarm went off and forget "Manic Monday", this is "Stupid Saturday"....and some more!

Sensible folk had already gone to Endure 24, were snug in their tents or making were their way there. Thanks to folk at work having time off, I had to head up later and I didn't fancy the joys of the M25 after work, so there I was, swearing at the iPhone alarm desperately looking for the snooze button! Thankfully I'd packed the night before so there was just my parkrun gear to grab as well as my food for the remainder of the weekend! 6am leaving Hove on a Saturday meant the roads were quiet and I made really good time as I headed to Newbury parkrun.

The parkrun is located on the site of Greenham Common, which, if you're an old fart like me, will know that it was the sight of huge protests when it was an American airbase in the 1980's. Fighter jets and nuclear weapons were stored here at the height of the cold war, and the location was used in the second world war also. It was surreal arriving at a place where there had been so much history, and it seems I wasn't the only tourist in town. Runners were coming up to me and asking where the start was! Seems the tourists were outnumbering the locals! I was one of 563 runners and joggers (no doubt numbers increased by Endure 24!), of which 146 were first timers to the event! The course was lovely, and what was once one of the longest runways in Europe, was now reduced to a cube of tarmac. Nature had well and truly reclaimed the site and the trail pathways were an ideal setting for the run. I'd already emailed Event Director Dave in advance to thank him for the run, as all too soon, I'd got my barcode scanned and it was time to head to Endure to meet the team!

Endure 24 is known as Glastonbury for runners and there was a mass of tents as I entered the field. Infact, there was a whole array of tents, vans and gazebos, even a "Mystery Machine" from Scooby Doo! So there I was with my sports bag, sleeping bag and food bag, looking like an overage 1940's wartime child refugee being sent away from the city during the war, slowly making my way through the tents, looking for Car Park A. Kind of a pity that I'd parked in Car Park D but it was done now! As I made my way outside the arena, there were one or twelve familiar faces as I walked straight up to the "Seagulls" and "Hove Prommers" base camp. A quick catch up with Georgia, chat with Pip, Meg and a wave to the other team members and I headed for base camp of my own. Typically, there was my running stalker, Lorraine (read the other chapters of the blog), so there was the first selfie of the weekend! I started to make my way again and there was a phone call - it was Louise, our team captain, enquiring in a forthright way as to where I was! Whilst I didn't know it at the time, I was actually 100 yards away so I made up the time quickly (about the only PB of the weekend!)

My tent awaited so I dumped my gear and met the rest of my team - Rich, Jules, Kelly and Chappers. Our running order was sorted - I'd go 5th out of the 6 of us - and we jotted down our predicted times for the 5 mile course! Jules was to go first and the clock seemed to be speeding to the start time of 12 noon! Temperatures were rising and, just for once, it was going to be a warm one! I made my way to the start line hoping to see people off! First spotted were Sarah, Laura and Stef - Stef taking the first leg on for her team! Then Vally G came through raring to go, and there was Georgia leading the way for the Hove Prommers! The pens were filling up, and it was getting harder to spot people. Being 6' plus, was kind of an advantage, and the fact there were selfies a-plenty made it very easy to spot (and then obviously send abuse to) Chris! Thankfully he knew it was all in jest, and all too soon, they were off! Endure 24 is a popular event and as the crowds started moving, it was great to see Sue, Lucie and Sharon from Lancing Eagles on their way.

With that, it was back to base camp, sorting out the running gear, making sure I'm wearing my timing ankle.....well, bracelet, and getting ready for the stages ahead. There's a strange kind of feeling with relay/team events: once they've started, there's no turning back. You're running with a team and for a team and when it's your turn, you just have to go and do your best! That's how it's going to be for the next 24 hours...so get used to it Brocklehurst!

Stage 1 - Saturday 14:47 hours

I'm stood in transition waiting for Chappers. Everywhere I look I'm surrounded by fancy dress, inflatables, chilled people, stressed people, mad people! What are we doing? It seemed a good idea at the time! I'm looking down the route, trying my hardest to spot a bright yellow t-shirt knowing that it contains Chappers. Unfortunately for me, there are a fair few runners in this colour (some of which were previous runners who'd completed more than 100 miles) and as you probably know, colours aren't my strength. There he is! Cue the frantic waving and I get his attention. The precious orange wristband is handed over and I'm off! I'd been asking the team for their thoughts and opinions of the course and they varied. My turn to experience it first hand! The start of the course is a short grass section and after about 5 or 6 strides, there was an ankle wobble - oh no you don't! I wasn't going to fall arse over tit especially when Georgia, Mark and Lester were cheering and sending me on my way!

Right then, let's see what it's all about. Onto the path and out of the field and a little bit of a climb heading out up through the trees on the path. I'm not a lover of hills, but it's not too bad though I'm hoping to establish a bit of a steady pace. Off onto the trail road now and it's a bit dusty but you now feel that the event has truly started! I'm already approaching 2km and there's a familiar figure ahead - Nick running for the Seagulls. "You ok mate?" I call out, and carry on past him. About 200 metres later, I can hear a faster runner approaching from behind - "you know your friend replied "no" don't you?" I'm a little stunned - I was so sure I heard a yes, and I've gone too far now to be of help. I plough on, hoping he's ok. The first proper incline is called "Little Steep" - I'd be calling it something different later on in the weekend - and at halfway there's music and flag waving from some dudes with a VW van! Just about 5km sees a water station and some pretty impressive signage spelling ENDURE 24 and this mile is my favourite of them all. I just find it the most comfortable! My comfort zone is about to be shattered - by Heartbreak Hill. It certainly deserves it's name and I give it my best shot, but it's going to be a pain in the arse for the weekend for sure.

The next section is a loop that will see me come back down parallel to Heartbreak Hill (though it would take me until the penultimate lap to realise this!) From here, it was time to head for home, and I knew I was getting closer as could hear my friend on the mic again! There was a twisty section that led back to the field and I will admit to being concerned at some of the hidden roots and the footing there - what would it be like in the dark?? Back into the field and straight to the finish line? No! A little out and back first! Have I ever told you how much I love these? Of course I haven't and even though it's short, it's bloody annoying! I'm on the uneven grass again and I seem to manage, with sublime skill, to find the sections that threaten to turn an ankle. Nevertheless, I cross the timing mat, locate Louise and send her on her way with the bracelet. There's the chance to catch up with Mark who informs me that Nick sent a selfie from the course and whilst he's not been great, he's ok. A quick change later and due to the closeness of our tent, I'm able to wait for Nick as he too encounters the grassy finish. A few sugary cola bottles into his hand to see him home and he's looking better!

Lap time 47:43 (since some fool forgot to stop his watch - approx 46:30 but that's not what's on Strava #ifitsnotonStravaitdidnthappen)

Stage 2 - 19:08 hours

I'm told it's better the devil you know! Sometimes that isn't the case as the threat of dormant tree roots jumping out and taking my ankles remained a worry. Due to the speediness of my team, the anticipated head torch wearing wasn't needed for another 52 minutes so I could just head off in fresh running clothes and get my miles done. There were more solo runners now noticeable (somehow I'd missed lots of them on lap one) and I was simply in awe of them all. Where possible, I passed on an encouraging comment or thumbs up as I passed those who were walking.

Already, there were some familiar sights out on the course and little sections that I was ready for. Just about the same time that I'd seen Nick, there was an encouraging shout for me as Pip sped past on her lap for the Prommers. I was safe in the knowledge that Heartbreak Hill (HH) was after half way and I could start to get some progress in before I had to worry about that. All I could remember was that it was a sharp right...before too long, I'd know exactly where it was! The marshals out on the course were terrific - enouraging, supporting and fun. "Where's the downhill section?" I called out to one. "Round the corner coming up soon", she replied. "I hope you're not lying, cos if you are, I'll be back.....eventually!" I don't think she felt threatened as sure enough there was a downhill section...plus by the time I'd be back, I'd be running like an asthmatic ant with some heavy shopping (with apologies to "Blackadder goes forth") Presently, it was Brockles goes fifth and some of the pebbles and stones were on first name terms with me! Someone went past with Elton John's "Rocket Man" booming out of a speaker. "Well I think it's gonna be a long, long time...." - you're not kidding Elton! I could feel something.....

"What's that on my leg?" I thought to myself. I glanced down and there was nothing there except dust and I realised something wasn't quite right with the calf muscle. Cue a VMLM flashback only substitute the glute for the calf this time. It wasn't a pain, it was an ache and whilst it didn't hurt, the fact it was there (and it shouldn't have been) was enough. I carried on, "happy" in the knowledge that HH wasn't far away!

Once HH was out of the way, I remembered with dread the tree roots and twisty bits: on lap two they were of so little concern and sure enough, I was back in the field before I knew it! Even the out and back bit didn't bother me and this time I even noticed the fact that were it turned, was the pathway out at the start of the leg! The grass section was safely negotiated and handover was completed with Lou (which a bit of help from Georgia pointing out where Lou was!) - my time was sufficient enough to allow her not to need a headtorch so that was something! Two legs done and I needed a shower. Each of the legs so far had seen me result in a horrid sweaty mess and the weather wasn't good enough to actually dry the shirts when hanging up. A nice hot shower did the trick, I stocked up on fuel and got the foam roller out. It was getting dark now and my next run would be here before I knew it.

Lap Time 47:43 (incredibly the same time but this time, the actual time I ran)

Stage 3 - 23:46 hours

Where's my bloody hat??? Anyone passing our camp would have heard these words loud and clear as I looked for my hat to wear beneath the head torch. Frantic searching couldn't find it (even using said torch) so I just had to strap it to my follicle challenged head and get on with it. (And thank God I didn't find it as I'd have been cooked!!)

Earlier in the day, we'd solved the issue of being spotted in transition by waving a bright orange vest in the air. Even under the floodlights, I didn't think this would work which was useful since I couldn't see the thing when I left camp. Some hollering and waving at Chappers saw the bracelet handed over and off I went, into darkness. (Sounds like a good name for a Star Trek movie...I'll suggest it to them and hope they don't think of it first!) Outfit was changed once again and I wore my 2017 World Champs volunteer shirt. "You're wearing pink" was Chappers' comment - I don't think he was impressed.

There were torchlights everywhere and to anyone coming the other way, it must have looked like an armada of Daleks were on the move! It was great to see so many parkrun shirts out on the course, and if I ever do a parkrun at night (which is highly unlikely given their start time), I'll be used to it! Running with a head torch is unusual and plays on the senses! I was used to the steady flow of midges attracted to the light, but with the three beams from the light, it felt as though I was wearing goggles and I actually put my hands to my eyes on numerous occasions to make sure I wasn't! As powerful as the lights were, it was sometimes hard to appreciate the nature of the terrain and this was a good thing! Before I knew it, I was approaching the tree roots above which, fairy lights had been lit to help illuminate the way. It was then I noticed the roots were a brighter colour. Is this my eyes? Had someone kindly sprayed something on them to make them more noticeable?? Or had they been this colour all along? By the time I'd processed these thoughts, I was well inside the final mile, and with faster runners speeding towards me, I waved them through as passing in the twisty section would have been very difficult. A glance at the watch told me that I could get under 50 mins if I pushed it! I arrived in transition, standing in front of Lou, offering the wristband asking, "do you want this?" I'm not sure if she was surprised by my "speed" or I just looked bloody awful, but a surprised Lou grabbed to wristband and was off! I headed back to the tent, realising that the rolling must have done the trick as there was very little from the calf on this stage.

Lap Time 49:39

As we were on the nightshift, I gave Jude a shout as she was next after Lou, and during the very early morning hour, we bemoaned the closeness of the porta-loos and more that everyone who used them, let the damn doors bang! Seriously, it's 1am in the morning and people are still answering the call of nature. Either that, or trying to recreate the end of an EastEnders' episode!!

Stage 4 04:46 hours

4am and the alarm goes off. My first thought is that if we were married, my legs would want an immediate divorce! I'd been nice to them for two hours, putting them in a sleeping bag and letting them rest. Now, at stupid o'clock I was expecting them to move?? There's condensation in the tent and things are pretty quiet, apart from whooping and shouting from the transition area. Bang! Some noisy git has just left the loo! Time to make a move. I head over to transition and it's misty as anything. I'm hoping that this will mean slightly cooler temperatures as once again, a few hours earlier I'd finished looking like someone who'd taken a short cut through a car wash! A familiar face is there in Lisa who's about to head out shortly for her leg for the team. A quick hello and I'm ready to wait for Chappers. Opposite me, the clock is counting the minutes and seconds, and just for a moment, I'm distracted by a familiar pair of compression socks. With it being 4:35am and this being my brain we're talking about, it's only when it's too late that I realise it's Magda off out for another lap of her solo adventure. Again, I'm in awe that she's still going, and as I pass her out on the course, I'm struggling to find anything better to say than "you're amazing". Hopefully whatever words I blurted out, got across my sentiment! I'm back in the 100 parkrun shirt now due to the following logic:

1) Hardly anyone is going to see me and realise I was wearing it for parkrun earlier.

2) It's misty so it'll soon be soaked in mist and sweat.

3) I'm running out of shirts as it's impossible to dry anything!

I'm overtaken by someone in a 250 parkrun shirt - "what a rubbish shirt!" I grin as they pass. They smile and disappear into the mist.

If the darkness distracted me, the mist is annoying me. I'm slower, I'm tired and I think I'm running faster than I actually am. That's bloody annoying! It feels the same pace as earlier but the Garmin is stubborn and refuses to concur. (The cheeky thing had the temerity to tell me to "move" earlier on!!) Now I can see again (headtorch on but not really needed), things seem to be further away than I remember: the turn with the nice downhill bit, the bit with the marshals, the chap with the van who looks like he wants to be a member of 1980's group "The Specials" are all that bit further away. I'm getting slower and I know this will be the slowest time I've done so far, so I'm trying my psychology of telling myself that the next time I'm here, it'll be for the last time! I enter the field and glance at the watch. Another sub-50 is mine if I can cover the last section in a minute.....which would take some doing on a motorbike! I'm soaking again and sweat is pouring out of me! A sweaty wristband is now in Lou's possession and I head back to base. It's here things get a little cloudy (no mist pun intended) as I'm pretty sure I see Georgia flying in for the Prommers completing her fourth lap already! "Great going Dickie" I shout and there's a grin and she's flown past! A change into trackies (it's not as warm when you're not running) and a cup of tea and it's time to take a breath. Later when Lou is back, there's bacon butties, but for now, I have some leg rolling to do!

Lap time 51:38

Stage 5 09:46 hours

"We've been talking" Rich says. The team have had a cunning plan that will see Kelly get out to complete a 6th leg (Kelly is our third runner), provided its before 11:59am. All I have to do, is record a faster stage than previous. First impressions are that the legs have moved on from divorce proceedings and have taken a contract out on the rest of me! I'm not sure I can do it, but I promise to do my best and we'll see what happens. Poor Lou had a difficult 4th stage and went straight for a massage. Her suffering meant a slower time, not that I was bothered, but this did lead her to withdraw from her 5th stage and Jude ran it. This then gave the others a chance to get a 6th run as Jude is quick! Very quick. If it had been down to me, I don't think I'd have got back in time. Stage 5 was tough but I can't say why! Of course there were aches and pains and I was tired, but it wasn't one thing that slowed me.

As I waited for Chappers, there was my neighbour (and friend) Emma who was taking on the event as a duo! I'd no idea she was running, let alone doing such a humungous challenge! I really do have some incredible friends!

As I hit the path, I finally saw Kerri and had to say hello! I was on a time limit, but I thought "balls to it" and stopped for a very quick hug! I now felt like I was running through mud and I tried my hardest to kick on. The good thing about the tired legs is that I just flew down the downhill bits as there was not much there to stop me! Slowly but surely the miles were ticked off and as I entered the final mile, I exchanged glances with another runner and carried on past her. I was horrified when I realised I'd just blanked Laura! She called out to me and I soon realised my mistake and was able to shout back something about "nearly there". 24 hour races have a lot to answer for! And so into the field for the final time and the handover to Jude who set off like she'd left the oven on! Gone in a blink!

Lap time 51:14

One medal collected and a bottle of Gusto Cola was devoured to toast the end of my race! Thanks to some tremendous running, Rich put in a fab lap after Jude, passing over to Kelly at 11:59! Like most teams, we waited on the side ready to accompany our final finisher over the line, but she was too quick! Endure 24 was done and the sun came back out to crown the most amazing 24 hours! My final lap wasn't my slowest so I was pleased with that! I'd made new friends, caught up with old friends and cheered on good friends! Thanks to my team mates, especially Louise who'd pulled the team together. Everyone of us deserved that medal, but I'm not sure if Rich should be allowed to keep his, on account of his taste in music.....but that's another story! #gotanygraaapes?

bottom of page