top of page

Endure(ance) makes the legs go wobblier (and the blog shorter!)

Despite twelve hours sleep, Monday was an exhausting day. I was ready for weekend but the weekend was never further away. There was no doubt this week that I'd be feeling it!! The head wanted to get the trail dust out of the legs but Monday was all about staying awake!

The demands of the working week meant that Tuesday saw nothing more than a reasonably light gym session - and to make matters worse, there was a cheeky gym user in the same shirt as me!!! OK, so it was a gym user I knew was going to be there, but there was Georgia modelling her Endure 24 shirt - and looking a lot better than I in it! I had to concede defeat in the fashion stakes as she also had an Endure 24 headband.....if only I'd known such an item was for sale!

Wednesday as ever was GoodGym and the two miles to visit Fletch were tired ones. Will these weekend miles ever get out of my legs? I was struggling more at the moment than I'd ever done post-marathon and I include Manchester in that! (London - ok there's a pretty good excuse for that). Regardless, I'd finally done a run after E24 and it was good to see Fletch, even though he'd not had the best of weeks. I ended up being there nearly two hours as there was a lot to catch up on....and when I left, the legs decided that they too were not having a good week, so I walked home.

So here was Thursday, and not much done this week. The weather was overcast and there was rain so I HAD to get out there. I dragged the legs and the first mile was ok....the second a little quicker....and the third quicker still! Strange! And whilst nothing to shout about, it was good to feel a little bit better!

Saturday I was guide running at Hove Promenade and this was doubly satisfying as not only did I enjoy pacing Paul, but we snuck in a PB for him too by one second! I also clocked up my 200th parkrun, which whilst isn't a milestone, means I'm about 14 months from the 250 shirt! It's going to be an interesting journey! But as I always say, that's another story!

bottom of page