top of page

If you don't want to know the score, look away now!

Well the heatwave continues and as someone who always looks like it's hot when I run, it hasn't been the most encouraging weather for me to get out there! The running week (well 3 days) started on Monday after yet another lazy Sunday! I need to sort that out! There's just no enthusiasm for Sunday at the moment! But I have a cunning plan, so maybe watch this space.

A decent 5km runch on Monday was a good start to the day. Yours truly, Billy-No-Mates, heading off in the lunchtime heat, and as usual, starting slowly. During the run though, there was a subtle realisation that I could step up a bit...and then a bit more. I kept trying just to see what would happen, and sure enough I was getting a bit quicker. At the usual turn, I glanced at the watch, and there was a 7 at the start of my pace...and then a blob of sweat in my eyes, so I focused on where I was going, feeling a little bit pleased. Just before the two mile point, the watch beeped.....two miles, last mile pace..7:09???? Well first of all, I've done this run more than I've got hairs on my head (yes!! Significantly more than two!), and I know my current location isn't two miles, and secondly that pace? Suffice to say I spent the last mile wondering whether Garmin had sent me out for a swim or off to the bloody racecourse, as my 5km run registered 3.2 miles, average 7:47/mile which of course was now nonsense.

Since I did a phoney 5km at lunch, I headed for the gym post work and found myself on the fuc.., erm wonderful rowing machine again. Once again, Georgia and I put in the rowing and hit new distance PBs for each of us! 6k for Georgia, 5.1km (all about the 0.1) for me and yet another sport that I can cover 5km in half the time I can run it!

Tuesday saw a determined me head out again for a 5km...though someone forgot to tell my legs. Yes, I know its summer and its nice and hot and we'd only moan if it was raining... hang on, I'm from Manchester! Rain? We're baptised at birth in Manchester as it's a shame to waste the rain as its bound to be peeing it down whatever time you're born! I am NOT enjoying the evening heat (so much for "it'll be cooler later", and whilst I may look like it has been raining, post-run, it really isn't! The legs weren't up for it, and it was staggering how much difference there was between the day before and the current day. 5k logged again but I couldn't help but feel a bit disappointed!

Wednesday saw a visit to Fletch as part of GoodGym and at least I was in good company as he hates the heat as much as me! I think it is entirely down to the fact that he's in his 80's now, but the knowledge of a sweat arsed lump like me coming into the living room, must make him hate it all the more! If he does, he never says, as right on cue, my ice cold water and towel are waiting for me and it's time to spend an hour putting the world to rights!

To be frank, well actually I'd rather be me, but anyway, Thursday/Friday were written off due to a combination of tiredness/heat/work stuff so with no volunteering duties, I considered my parkrun options! Bevendean was considered, and Preston Park too, but in typical "me" fashion, I couldn't decide and spent that long "considering" that the only choice I had was Hove Prom so I duly headed there.

Wanted! Reward offered for location of my missing neck!

As ever great to see so many familiar faces down there. Rosie Swale Pope was back, and as enthusiastic and lovely as ever, telling me tales of her next exploits running to Berlin (and taking in as many parkruns as possible en route), Emily (above) and (another) Rosie were at the front of the start line, naturally along with the usual suspects. As ever, I never know what the parkrun will produce and though I was a minute slower than the previous week, I can't complain if I'm not prepared to push it.

Sunday morning and I'm faced with potentially another lazy day! I don't mind a bit of a lie in but I was determined to do something. Naturally, it was already bloody hot and for me to enjoy a run, I needed to be out the door about 6:30am - it was already 7:00am! Thankfully, I'd been in touch with the guys at Haywards Heath junior parkrun and allowed 90 junior athletes to inspire me as they took on their 2km course. A smashing morning and lovely to see loads of parents enjoying quality time with the kids! My afternoon was sorted too! A return to the tennis courts at Preston Tennis Club! It had been 14 months since I'd hit a ball, and I just fancied a spot of social tennis! I dusted off the bag (literally) and headed down.

Three sets played, two won, several thousand steps later and I decided to call time as the court temperatures were 30 degrees and I didn't want to push it too far. Already, parts of the legs and hips were announcing aches that I'd forgotten existed, and I knew I needed to do more miles next week!

Tennis players do running as part of the their training - runners DON'T play tennis as part of their training - and there's a bloody good reason for it. Glutes felt as though they'd been kicked AND stretched at the same time, and getting up, I looked like someone going for their pension, not a bloody run. Monday lunchtime, quelle surprise, it was bloody hot and I mean hot. The sort of day where the heat bounces off the concrete, slaps you across the face and then comes back for me! Sal & Sasha were back and though it seems a silly effort, two miles was probably about right.

Tuesday saw a change of plans as I popped in on Fletch again as he couldn't make Wednesday and England were playing Columbia! Knowing that I wouldn't leave until late, I added on an extra mile to make the run up to 5km, but spent most of it cursing the tennis. The glutes and legs are still not right! Still, Joe is in the office tomorrow, so hopefully he can get me sorted, but as they say, is aother story!

Oh by the way, England won 4-3 on penalties - just incase you've been on another planet!

bottom of page