top of page

Never was a blog given so apt a name

Well you can stop all of your letters, emails and heartfelt pleas....I'm back now. (Please note that there were none of the aforementioned but I thought I'd stop you feeling bad for noticing I wasn't around!) The blog is back and it's up to me to do something remotely interesting and then write about it. What HAS taken me so long to write? So what has happened since the last entry..?

Well, I have to say not that much..apart from lots of parkruns, Ragnar Relay, trips up north, and other bits and pieces! A few things happened that made me fall out of love with running - hang on that's a bit strong, lets just say my "get up and go" got up and p*ssed off! Running for me is a confidence thing and the more I do it, the more I believe in myself and my ability to do it. Therein lies the problem in that in order to do what I enjoy, I need to do it. For one reason or another over the past few months, I've listened too much to the other voice...the one that tells me I'm too tired...things ache, not today, maybe tomorrow. Thankfully, that voice is much quieter now!

It all comes down really to the Bright10 race a few weeks ago. I was a little uneasy about this but as an ever-present in this race, I'd signed up weeks before! I hadn't run ten miles in one go since London and, lets be honest, using the word "run" in that context was hardly correct. A few 10ks here and there were really not the preparation I would normally bring into this sort of race, but the weather was once again stunning and as I lined up with Sophie and Frances, I hoped my plan of keeping to nine minute miles would see me through. The girls had agreed to stick with me, and assured me that this wasn't too slow. Good to have company I thought. So, the first few hundred metres involve heading east to the Peace Statue then heading west in order to complete a loop of Hove Lawns before heading into the city. Naturally, before the Peace Statue, the girls buggered off, though I did catch Frances looking in a shop window, claiming she was trying to see if I was behind (and absolutely nothing to do with her hair!) We managed to stay together for a mile or two before the incline of Marina Parade slowed me down, and she charged on! (And quite right too!)

It was great to see lots of familiar faces on the streets be it as runners, volunteers or folk out supporting friends and loved ones. There was always a shout heading my way which is totally humbling (and always appreciated). One lady asked me if I knew everybody out there which was a little embarrassing, particularly as I replied "no", and then promptly got shouted at by three people! "Just the power of parkrun" I called back as I headed off. Knowing lots of people does have its advantages, particularly where there are uphill sections. Heading past Brighton Marina, the road rises - not quite to being a hill, but enough to sting a little bit. My pace was averaging sub 9/mm which was pleasing at this point but it meant by the time I got to this stage, my speedier friends like Emily, Maisie, Richard et all had long since headed down Duke's Mound to Madeira Drive for the final section of the race. There were still plenty of friends to shout at and cheer on though and the buzz of seeing them do so well, coupled with concentrating on who was coming the other way, meant that I forgot about the incline and soon enough, it was me heading back the other way, still with lots of chums to shout at.

Some people don't like races - it conjures all sorts of ideas about competitiveness and an atmosphere that isn't friendly. This couldn't be further from the truth. Last week, as a helper at the Arena 80 10K race, there was lots of interaction between running clubs, and even the very speedy runners asked after each other and wished each other the best. This was the same for me as I headed home with lots of encouraging shouts! I even posed for a photo as I headed to Madeira Drive courtesy of Nik "Baylo" Bailey! (photo above!) Such a fool! With just over two miles to go, I realised the pace wasn't as comfortable as it should be, but for a reason I couldn't possibly imagine! I wanted to speed up. The finish line was close enough to try it so that even if I did "blow up" there wasn't far to go. 9mm became 8.30mm which became 8mm in the last mile! I can still do 10 miles!!! To say this is a confidence boost is an understatement!

Needless to say (aside from a nasty migraine headache), the mojo is back, aided by listening to music which helps. Manchester Marathon is booked in once more and a few runs are pencilled in this week ahead of a trip to a new parkrun for me at Dulwich. I suppose I should get off my backside now and do something worth writing about? Well that remains to be seen!

That WILL, have to be another story....

bottom of page