top of page

Giving the training a Lancing blow!

So following the challenging Monday run, it was a with a little trepidation that the Young Anderson and I headed out for a few Tuesday evening miles. The previous morning was as fresh in the mind as the headwind we would undoubtedly face on the return leg of the evening run but nevertheless we got on with it, enjoying the tail wind as we headed into the darkness that is (as anyone who has ever taken part in Brighton Marathon) will tell you, the road to hell! Good to see fellow chums out and about as we ran - notably Brian from Run Brighton, Brighton parkrun and various other events and races! Being a hardy Scot, he'll have been used to the windy conditions!

Down the road we went, considering four miles but hoping for five, when, strangely all too soon, the Garmin showed 2.5 miles done (well, mind did! Lucy's has an annoying habit of being 0.05 miles ahead of mine!) So we braced ourselves and turned into the wind....and found nothing there! For some reason the headwind we expected became a head breeze and thus a comfortable five was completed! And very enjoyable it was too!

Wednesday was of course GoodGym and since I had been a lazy sod (the wind was getting stronger with each passing day) and drove home from work, I added a little on to make it up to the 5km. It wasn't as comfortable as the previous evening but I was telling myself these were bonus miles due to the headwind!

For whatever reason, Thursday didn't happen and though Friday is traditionally my rest day, I ventured out with Sally for one mile of walk/jogging. It was bloody brilliant! Sally was great and it's so hard to put into words the buzz you get from introducing someone to something as simple, but rewarding as running! That mile was duly logged on Strava with pride!

Saturday saw a long overdue visit to Lancing Beach Green parkrun and a ticking off of my "NENYD" (Nearest event not yet done). The weather wasn't too pleasant but it was a relief to see the Green almost unaffected by the downpours overnight! Good to see old friends too from all over the parkrun world, as I discovered how zappy the first 1km is there on the grass! I certainly enjoyed the tailwind as we headed east along the coastal path, and once again, geared myself up for the headwind to follow. Again, it wasn't as bad as I expected (and I even had time to splash through some puddles!) and as I headed for home, I really felt that I was starting to motor* a little! (*motor for me, not a fast runner!) The second mile was 8:03 and I knew the tailwind would have helped there, but the final full mile came in also at 8:03 and I was working well, but still within my comfort zone. For the third week running, my time was a few seconds quicker though of course, three different courses and three different sets of weather should be taken into consideration! A smashing morning, top 25 place for me (out of 70 odd runners) which was nice (always nice to see the lower token numbers without having to do barcode sorting!) but just a great, parkrun morning.

Thankfully, the weather held on Sunday as a few of the volunteer team for East Brighton Park parkrun, headed out for a run/walk/jog of the course! There must be something in that grass as it was a bloody tough start. Legs did not want to get going and they were in a definite "Sunday mood". Of course, the purpose of the run was nothing more than to experience the route that we will hopefully be using in the months ahead, but I am looking forward to having a go at this course (not that it will be a PB one with so many twists and turns!)

Monday saw the waves crashing over again at the Marina and a suggestion from a colleague led to a slightly amended route. The first 2.5km was as normal, heading east along the undercliff but there was the chance to add to the run, not just with an extra mile, but with a bit of undulating* cliff top running ("hilly" would be a better word but I don't think I'd get away with that!). The wind was, well basically a git as it couldn't decide if it was with you or against you, though luck was with me as I only got sprayed by one wave. Considering the amount of water the sea was throwing over, that was indeed lucky! Naturally, up the ramp at Rottingdean and heading back up and over the clifftops affected my pace but I was pleased overall with an average pace of 9:02/mile! All still going in the right direction! Let's hope that continues....but that's another story!

Hopefully you're enjoying the blog. If you aren't then find something less boring to do! Seriously though, hope you are and if you can, please donate to my charity for London Marathon. I'm running for SCOPE and every penny counts! Thank you - https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/mark-brocklehurst8

bottom of page