top of page

Pictures paint a thousand words...but there aren't any, so here are the words (all 1152 of them!

Double run for me Tuesday saw another inspiration mile with Sally as she worked on her walk/jog efforts. Incredibly, she did it to the second, as her time was identical! In parkrun terms, that's a "Groundhog Day!"

That evening saw me on my GoodGym run. The colder weather is definitely drawing in now, and this is measured by the reduction in the amount of sweat on my person! I do still have to plan ahead and ensure a towel and change of shirt is waiting for me though! Times were nothing special to be honest, but there was a pleasant trend of the pace per mile coming down with each of the three miles. I think I just need time to get going and to find a rhythm sometimes and the colder weather doesn't help!

Wednesday saw me up in "That London" with the other Regional Event Support Ambassadors for parkrun. We were joined by Tom Williams and Helen Hood, and a really constructive time was had by all! There's nothing quite like a shot in the arm of parkrun positivity as we discussed the challenges and issues that we face. Being in a room though of positive, forward thinkers made this a privilege to be there! Then, to top it off, I was at a Race Director information session hosted by England Athletics!

Thursday started with good intentions and a lovely 1.8 miles out at lunch with more of the Neilson crew who'll be doing the Brighton Half! The plan was to head out for 10 miles myself later on but circumstances dictated otherwise and that plan was shelved. In fact, there is little to report on the running front until the Brighton 10k on Sunday (I was on Run Director duties on the Saturday so not a total lazy git!)

I love races in Brighton as there are so many people I get to see either running, volunteering or watching and I always forget to mention someone afterwards! Sorry - my simple brain can only hold so much! It was also lovely to catch up with Stephanie, and to meet her other half, Liam who were in town for the race. Our warm up consisted of latte from Cafe Nero before a brisk walk to the start: a walk that got brisker when we realised the time! With ten minutes to spare, bags were safely stored away under the watchful eye of Mr Richard Carter, and I headed for the start. It was obvious how much the size and stature of this race has grown over the years and there were so many familiar faces out there.

As I queued for entrance to the pen, I clocked Dave. He soon showed me a gap in the fence and we agreed to run together! Setting off was a little slow as the numbers needed to thin out but we headed west towards Hove Lawns, maintaining a pace that was a little quicker than I expected. Dave and I considered this and made regular adjustments along the course! After three and a bit "K" we turned and headed back down Hove Prom, back down the parkrun course I know so well. Race routes can be buggers at times! I don't like having to run past the finish line without actually going through it, but I was well aware that there was just that waiting for us on Madeira Drive - big style. This kinda hit me when I saw Caroline cheering everyone on from the side, and then saw further down the prom, the sign that said "5KM" - we weren't even half way!!! Once we were back on the road though we were over half-way, and the old memory kicked in for me as I headed to the centre of the road to lessen the effect of the camber (you know the camber? The one you NEVER notice in a car but bites you on the backside in a race? Yeah, that one!) Heading past the i360, shouts from Kirsty and Baylo, and then Brian and Joe, who looked quite relieved to be watching. An insult from John Jaap approaching Madeira Drive was dealt with, with a retort about wearing coats and softy southerners (just the thing to shout when surrounded by lots of them!)

Here was the nemesis! The finish line...though alas it was about 2.5km too soon for me. I used this time to look for friends running the other way and shouted myself hoarse (yes that can happen) seeing everyone striding home for the line. As I turned for home at Blackrock, I was catching someone up who reminded me of Terry, a runner with about 20 years head start on me! As I got closer to him, he sped up and surged ahead a few yards. "Just like Terry!" I thought to myself. Then, when I passed him, I realised it was Terry! Sadly for him, days of 21 minute parkruns are in the past and it was quite a moment to pass him. He reacted though in the way we expect from Terry - a grin and a wave.

A shout from Neil (a fellow parkrun ambassador) was good to hear (especially as I had barely seen him...again! What an awful host I am!), and then the "oh shit the camera is pointing at me try and look like a proper runner" moment. Once again, that bit felt the best as I was running properly (and more likely because it was short!) Medal and goody bag collected, it was time for a well deserved coffee, but not before an awesome congratulatory hug from Richard as I got my bag back!

Monday saw a recovery bike ride at the gym with every good intention of going to track. Alas there was something getting my allergies going and I was convinced I was coming down with a cold. Thankfully, it was allergies but I wasn't risking it!

Tuesday saw the cold weather come in but Alice and I had promised to do a run and I'm so glad we did! It was the quickest four miles ever - not on the watch, but we had a good old natter about social media, her company BelongCon and possibly getting me on a podcast to talk about parkrun - hope it's a long one then!

Wednesday was GoodGym and this was a much more comfortable run. One mile in, I found my rhythm and though my Garmin which refuses to tell me the time now, was ok on running duties, I pretty much ignored it and just ran! The cold air was refreshing and it was a great night to run - plus again, I got quicker on every mile! Result!

So that was the week that was! Not even a photo in sight! But with some parkrun tourism ahead, there's bound to be some next time....but that's another story!

bottom of page